Parks and Trails Advisory Board

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

About the Parks and Trails Advisory Board 

The Missoula County Parks and Trails Advisory Board monitors and evaluates issues relating to County parks and trails, and reports to the Board of County Commissioners with its recommendations.

Examples of parks under advisement by this board include: Big Sky Community Park in Missoula’s Target Range Neighborhood, East Missoula Lions’ Park, the Clinton Community Center, and Lolo Riverside Park. The County’s trail system includes the set of shared use pathways outside of the City of Missoula, such as the Bitterroot Trail, the Frenchtown trail system, and the Piltzville Trail connecting Bonner to Turah. Visit to explore all of Missoula County’s recreation lands.

The board advises the commissioners on: administering the County Parks and Trails Program; establishing park and trail policies, rules and public use requirements; reviewing and implementing plans, policies, programs, and regulatory and non-regulatory tools that support or impact parks and trails; and ensuring the most effective and efficient use of park funds. 


Parks and Trials Advisory Board bylaws. 

Authorization: The board was created on July 10, 2012 by the Board of County Commissioners in accordance with Montana Code Annotated 7-1-201 et. seq.


Meetings are held on the third Thursday of each month at 1:30 p.m. in the Community and Planning Services Conference room.

Community and Planning Services
127 E. Main Street Suite 2
Missoula, MT 59802
(406) 258-4657

Agendas Minutes

Board Membership

The board is comprised of seven voting members appointed by the commissioners. In addition, the commissioners appoint two alternate members. A representative from the Missoula Board of County Commissioners serves as an ex-officio, non-voting member of the board. 



Term End Date:

Martha Yates  Chair  6/30/20
Dan Morgan  Member  6/30/20
Chris Hale  Member  6/30/20
Sue Stanley   Member  6/30/21
Bill Dahlgren   Member  6/30/22
Tom Aldrich   Member  6/30/22
Jeffrey Koch   Member  6/30/22
Jim McLean  First Alternate  6/30/20
Jennifer Thomsen  Second Alternate  6/30/21
Commissioner Strohmaier  Serves at the pleasure of the Missoula Board of County Commissioners  N/A
Juniper Davis  Staff  N/A
Contact Information:   Community and Planning Services County Parks: (406) 258-4716

If you have any questions or you are unable to locate a particular board or commission, please contact us.