Protect your family by signing up to receive Smart911 Emergency Alerts and create your family’s Safety Profile.

City-County Health Board

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

About the City-County Health Board

The Board of Health is the policy-making body that determines the goals, objectives, and programs for the delivery of public health services to Missoula residents, both city and county. The Board has statutory authority and responsibility, including rule-making and adjudication, as well as budgeting authority.  The Board is responsible for selecting the Health Officer, who carries out statutory duties and directs the health department. For more information about the Board of Health click here

Interlocal Agreement 

The Missoula City-County Interlocal Agreement can be found here

Authorization: The City and County are authorized by Section 50-2-106 Montana Code Annotated to form a City-County Board of Health to implement a cooperative health program. 


Meetings are held the third Thursday of each month at 12:15 p.m. 

Missoula City-County Health Department
301 West Alder
Missoula, Montana 59802
(406) 258-3376

Board Membership

Membership: The same seven members serve on the Health, Air Pollution Control and Water Quality District Boards, with the addition of an eighth member on the Water Quality District Board who represents the Conservation District. 

  • Four citizen members: two appointed by the County and two appointed by the City
  • One medical doctor; appointed by the Board of Health
  • One County Commissioner member
  • One City Council member
  • One Conservation District member (serves only on Water Quality District Board)
  • Appointments are made by County Commissioners and City Council



Term End Date:

 Julie Armstrong (Ward 5)  Serves at the pleasure of the City Council  N/A
 Jean Curtiss  Serves at the pleasure of the Board of County Commissioners.  N/A
 Garon Smith, Ph.D.  Appointed by the Board of County Commissioners.  12/31/17
 Teresa Henry  Appointed by the Board of County Commissioners.  12/31/19 
 Ross Miller   Appointed by the Missoula City Council  12/31/18
 Debbie Johnston  Appointed by the Missoula City Council  12/31/19
 Robert Senger, M.D.   At-large physician member, appointed by the Board of Health.   5/18/19
 Paul Parson  Conservation District Board-Serves only on the Water Quality District   5/31/18


If you have any questions or you are unable to locate a particular board or commission, please contact us