Missoula City-County Health Department COVID-19 Information

Joint Information Center: Community COVID-19 Information and Resources

Rule requiring masks or face coverings in Missoula County

Missoula County phones: Missoula County continues to experience a high volume of calls. You may get a busy signal or experience long hold times when you call. Staff are working on solutions to decrease wait times. You may be able to find what you need at Thank you for your patience.


Election Advisory Committee

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

What is the Election Advisory Committee?

The Election Advisory Committee serves as a public liaison between the voters of Missoula County  and the Board of County Commissioners and Election Administrator. The committee is structured as so:

Board Membership 

Consists of seven voting members and three alternates; limit of three consecutive three-year terms. 

  • Two citizens at-large, including the alternate, appointed by the County Commissioners.
  • One appointed member will be a person with extensive knowledge regarding the application of the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA).
  • One University/College Student, appointed by the County Commissioners.
  • One Democratic Party representative and alternate.
  • One Republican Party representative and alternate.
  • One Libertarian Party representative and alternate.
  • One Commissioner will serve as an ex-officio member of the committee.

To apply for future EAC member positions, click here!

 Current Vacancy - Student Member (to fill the current term that will expire January 31, 2022)


Where: This meeting will be conducted through MS Teams. Connect using the following information:

Join Microsoft Teams Meeting

+1 406-272-4824   United States, Billings (Toll)

Conference ID: 974 151 060#

When: Tuesday, July 14, 2020 at 3:00 p.m.

Meeting Agenda and Draft April 14, 2020 Minutes 

Document Center:

Archived 2019 Minutes 

Archived 2018 Minutes


Rules of Procedure (New!)

Adopted Resolutions (New!)

EAC Contact Information and Terms

Past EAC Meeting Agendas, Minutes & Handouts

EAC Mission Statement


EAC Members 

In Alpha Order:

Arens-EAC (1) 





Commissioner appointed Representative

 Shibu Arens was born in Bethesda, Maryland, and grew up in Missoula, Montana.

He attended public schools in Missoula and studied Geosciences at the University of Montana, graduating with a B.S. in 2016. He also completed a minor in International Development Studies. He became interested in nonpartisan election work during his time as an undergraduate, participating in an internship and part-time work with Forward Montana in Missoula. He served on the board of directors of the Montana Public Interest Research Group on the campus at the University of Montana for nearly two full terms, serving as treasurer during his second term.

He currently works as a geologist at AIM GeoAnalytics, a  small business whose focus is analytical work and geological consulting.


Commissioner Appointed At-Large Representative

Larry believes in the processes of the Missoula County Election Advisory Board and appreciates the opportunities that will come out of the committee's work.

Larry was raised in Bozeman, Montana and graduated from Montana State University with BA degree in history. Larry was as a banker for more than 20 years, first as an adjuster then worked up to branch manager. Larry's work also includes ten years a regional sales manager for Ford Motor Company and fifteen years as owner of Acacia Lawn Maintenance in the Seattle area.

Upon retirement, Larry returned to Montana in 2007. Since then, he's been elected to the Swan Valley Community Council for a three year term; was appointed by Governor Schweitzer to Montana Board of Crime Control/Youth Justice Council for six years; and has been a Missoula County election judge and polling place manager for the past seven years.

Larry also helps with the Swan Valley Growth Plan rewrite, works with 5th and 6th grade students at Seeley Lake Elementary School teaching voting practices and demonstrating processes, and continues to study history, including the U.S. Constitution and American heritage through Hillsdale College online classes.


Commissioner Appointed Representative

Denver Henderson was born in Tulsa, Oklahoma and has lived in Missoula since 2003.  He is an alumni of the University of Montana where he earned a BA in Environmental Studies.  He has volunteered in every election and worked for a variety of organizations and campaigns.  He currently works as a labor organizer with long-term care workers across Montana.  He lives in the City of Missoula with his wife, Rikki, and dogs Penny and Cooper.  He has served on the EAC since 2016.


ADA Commissioner Appointed Representative 

 Travis was appointed as a member of the EAC in May 2016. In his professional life, Travis currently works as the advocacy coordinator at Summit Independent Living in Missoula. He has served and currently serves on many local, state, and national committees, boards and councils, including:
*Alliance for Disability and Students of the University of Montana (ADSUM,
*National Youth Leadership Network,
*Missoula Active Transportation Planning Advisory Committee,
*Missoula Long Range Transportation Planning Advisory Committee,
*Montana Health Coalition,
*Community First Choice Development and Implementation Council, and
In 2006, Travis earned a bachelor's degree in social work from the University of Montana.

As a person with a spinal cord injury, Travis knows first-hand many of the challenges Montanans with disabilities face everyday and works with the EAC to pursue its purpose to advise the Board of County Commissioners and represent the citizens of Missoula County in supporting and enhancing the election process in Missoula County, especially ensuring that the civil rights of people with disabilities are upheld and that they have a voice in the election process.


Democrat Central Committee Representative



Student Commissioner Appointed Representative



Republican Central Committee Representative


Free viewers are required for some of the attached documents.
They can be downloaded by clicking on the icons below.

Acrobat Reader Flash Player Windows Media Player Microsoft Silverlight Word Viewer Excel Viewer PowerPoint Viewer