Parks, Trails & Open Lands Steward Award Recipients

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option


The County's Parks and Trails Advisory Board and the Open Lands Citizen Advisory Committee recognize the critical on-the-ground efforts voluntarily undertaken by Missoula County residents to support their parks and open land. Each year, both boards honor these exceptional individuals or organizations by presenting an award for their stewardship. Awardees are given a certificate and their names are added to a plaque on display in the Community and Planning Services lobby.

If you're interested in nominating a land steward for the Land Stewardship Award, head to the Land Stewardship Award page

2020 Stewardship Award

Sue Brown - 2020 Parks Steward Award Recipient
with Martha Yates and Commissioner Juanita Vero

Parks Steward Awardees 

2020 - Sue Brown

2019 - Friends of 2 Rivers

2017 - Nine Mile Community Center

2015 -  Roger DiBrito

2014 - Renny Malach

Missoulian Coverage

2013 - Jean Belangie-Nye

2012 - Edward G. Heilman

2011 - Missoula Horsemen's Council

2010 - Seeley Lake Lions Club

2009 - Pat Keffeler

2008 - Big Sky Park Stewardship Committee and Bill Dahlgren, President

2007 - Bill Bevis

2006 - Hellgate Lions Club

2005 - Frank and Phyllis Ramsey

2004 - East Missoula Lions Club

2003 - Charlie Brown

2003 - Lloyd Twite









Land Stewardship Awardees

2019 - Bart and Wendy Morris

2017 - Mark Vander Meer

2016 - Land Lindbergh

2015 - Chuck and Mary Erickson (Piltzville)

2014 - Bud Moore (Swan Valley)

2013 - David and Kathryn Owen (Swan Valley)

2012 - Bill and Betty Potter (Greenough)

2011 - Ralph Thisted, Bruce Thisted (Nine Mile Valley)