There are currently two impact zones in Missoula County: M and SL.  Outdoor burning is occasionally limited or restricted in these areas in order to protect public health during stagnant air conditions.  Impact Zone M also comes into play during Air Pollution Warnings.

Impact Zone M

Description: Impact Zone M surrounds the greater Missoula metro area, including Frenchtown, Clinton, Lolo and Florence.


During a Stage II Air Pollution Warning, woodstove and fireplace restrictions go into the effect for Impact Zone M.

 Click here to see a large version of the Impact Zone M Map

Impact Zone M Map


Impact Zone SL

Description: Impact Zone SL surrounds Seeley Lake, but does not include Placid Lake, Lake Alva or Lake Inez.