Disaster & Emergency Services

The Missoula Office of Emergency Management supports FEMA's National Preparedness Goal and its five mission areas, in which it groups 32 core capabilities. These identified capabilities are intended to assist everyone who has a role in achieving all of the elements in the Goal.

The five mission areas are:

Prevention  |  Protection  |  Mitigation  |  Response  |  Recovery


Missoula County's DES staff prepares and manages plans and programs directed at disaster preparedness and coordination of response and recovery. This service is mandated by State Law (10-3-401 MCA) and is provided to the City of Missoula and Missoula County through an Interlocal Agreement. 

Oversight of plan development is accomplished by the Disaster Planning Committee (DPC), which has the following membership:

  • Sheriff
  • County Attorney
  • County Surveyor
  • MRFD Fire Chief
  • City Police Chief
  • City Fire Chief
  • City Attorney
  • City Public Works Director
  • City-County Health Department