Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

Meeting Location & Time

The joint meeting of the Missoula County LEPC (Local Emergency Planning Committee) and DPC (Disaster Planning Committee) occurs quarterly on the second Tuesday of January, April, July, and October at 1:30 p.m.  Interested members of the public are encouraged to attend. If you would like to be added to the electronic mailing list for LEPC meeting notifications, please email Nick Holloway.

The next LEPC/DPC meeting is scheduled for 1:30 p.m. on Tuesday, January 12, 2021. This meeting will be held virtually using the Microsoft Teams platform. You do not need to have Microsoft Teams installed to join using your computer. Please click here to join meeting.

Previous LEPC/DPC Meeting Minutes.

Local Emergency Planning Committee (LEPC)

The LEPC formed in 1986 to meet the duties required pursuant to Public Law 99-499, Superfund Amendments and Reauthorization Act of 1986 (SARA), Title III, and related regulations.

The purpose of the LEPC is to:

  • Develop, train and test a hazardous substance emergency response plan.
  • Develop procedures for regulated facilities to provide notification to the LEPC in accordance with Title III, SARA.
  • Develop procedures for receiving and processing requests from the public under the Community Right-To-Know provisions of Title III, SARA.
  • Provide for public notification of Committee activities.
  • Implement such other activities as may be legally required by the Federal Government, the State Emergency Response Commission (SERC), the Board of County Commissioners and/or the City Council.

The following entities are represented on the LEPC:

  • Local elected official  (1)
  • Missoula Police Department  (1)
  • Missoula County Sheriff's Office  (1)
  • Missoula Fire Department  (1)
  • Missoula Rural Fire Department  (1)
  • Missoula City/County Health Department  (1)
  • Missoula County Fire Protection Association  (1)
  • Missoula County OEM  (1)
  • Hazmat Transportation/Distribution Representative  (1)
  • Emergency Medical Services Representative  (1)
  • Local Media Representative  (1)
  • Regulated Title III Facility Representative  (1)
  • City Citizen Representatives  (2)
  • County Citizen Representatives  (2)

The Missoula County LEPC deals specifically with hazardous materials issues.  The LEPC also reviews and revises the City/County Hazmat Response Guidelines.

Disaster Planning Committee (DPC)

Missoula County's Disaster and Emergency Services (DES) staff prepares and manages plans and programs directed at disaster preparedness and coordination of response and recovery. This service is mandated by State Law (10-3-401 MCA) and is provided to the City of Missoula and Missoula County through an Interlocal Agreement.

Oversight of plan development is accomplished by the DPC, which has the following membership:

  • Sheriff
  • County Attorney
  • County Surveyor
  • MRFD Fire Chief
  • City Police Chief
  • City Fire Chief
  • City Attorney
  • City Public Works Director
  • City-County Health Department