The mission of the Missoula County Department of Public Works is to serve the residents of the County in the areas of engineering and surveying services, road and bridge construction and maintenance, water and wastewater facilities construction and maintenance, mapping, and Rural Special Improvement District (RSID) creation.


PW Collage



The goal of the Public Works Department is to provide the highest achievable quality of service to the Missoula community by enhancing the public's quality of life. This is accomplished by protecting the public's investment in the County's infrastructure; maintaining its 474 mile system of roads, bridges and drainage structures; servicing its fleet of vehicles and equipment essential in supporting services to internal departments; operating and maintaining essential water and sewer systems; subdivision review to ensure compliance with federal, state and local development standards; and assisting in and overseeing the RSID creation process.


The Department is administered by the Director of Public Works and a management staff consisting of a Deputy for Engineering, a Deputy for Surveying and 4 division managers. The Director also serves as manager for five water and sewer districts.

The Department is responsible for developing and managing the preparation of multiple master plans for future development within the county.



The Department of Public Works offers the following services
to the community:

  • Road Maintenance and Construction
  • Bridge Design, Construction and Maintenance
  • Road/Walkway Design and Construction
  • Subdivision Review and Approval
  • Approach, Excavation and Dust Abatement Permitting
  • Road Signing and Striping
  • Water and Sewer System Operation and Maintenance
  • Mapping Services and Addressing
  • Survey
  • Building Plan Review and Inspections



The Missoula County Building Division is located at 6089 Training Drive - approximately 1 1/2 miles west of the Airport off of Hwy 10. Normal business hours are Monday through Friday from 7 a.m. to 4 p.m. except holidays.


Missoula County has approximately 1500 miles of public roadway. The County Road Department is responsible for maintenance activities on approximately 474 miles of road which have been accepted for maintenance. Of the 474 miles, approximately 232 miles are paved and 242 miles are gravel.  Road Division winter hours run 6 a.m. - 2:30 p.m., Mon - Fri, and 6 a.m. - 4:30 p.m., Mon - Thurs during spring, summer, and fall.  


The Survey Office is a division of the Missoula County Public Works Department.  It is located on the ground floor of the Missoula County Administration Building, at 199 W Pine Street. The Survey Office is open from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m., Mon - Fri, except holidays. 


The Mapping department is located within the Surveyor's Office. 

Water and Sewer Districts

The Public Works Department currently oversees the operation and maintenance of 4 water and 2 sewer districts. Those districts are:

Quick Link Buttons

Building Quick Link 2 edited

Engineering Quick Link edited


Free viewers are required for some of the attached documents.
They can be downloaded by clicking on the icons below.

Acrobat Reader Flash Player Windows Media Player Microsoft Silverlight Word Viewer Excel Viewer PowerPoint Viewer